Colorado-Department of Regulatory Agencies-Physical Therapy Licensure Office Requirements

CE Requirements:
Senate Bill 11-69 was passed into law in the 2011 legislative session and required a Colorado licensed physical therapist to demonstrate his/her continuing competency (CC) in order to renew, reinstate or reactivate a license.
  • Physical Therapist Assistants are not required to participate.
  • Continuing competency requirements became effective on November 1, 2014.
  • CC requirements must be met prior to renewing a license in 2016.
Continuing Professional Development (CPD) is the State Physical Therapy Board program through which a licensee can satisfy the continuing professional competency requirements in order to renew, reinstate, or reactivate a license. For each renewal period, the CPC program consists of the following elements:
  1. A reflective Self-Assessment Tool (RSAT) and establishment of learning goals:
  2. Development of a Learning Plan;
  3. Accrual of 30 points through Professional Development Activities (PDA). PDA are learning activities undertaken to increase a licensee’s knowledge and skill or hone existing knowledge and skill for the purpose of continuing professional development. PDA are organized into Category I, II, and III activities with corresponding point values (refer to the Learning plan and the Professional Development Activities (PDA List). At least 15 points must be accrued from Category I activities; and  
  4. Once every 10 years, complete an Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (AKS), no more than two AKS will be credited in a 10 year period. 
For more information visit the Colorado State Physical Therapy Board.