The Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine Requirements

Licenses expire two (2) years on the last date of your birth month. Every physician or physician assistant born in an odd-numbered year expires at midnight on the last day of the month of the physician’s birth every odd-numbered year. Every physician or physician assistant born in an even-numbered year expires at midnight on the last day of the month of the physician’s birth every even-numbered year. 32 M.R.S. §3280-A; ME 02-373 and 02-383, Chapter 2, Section 2(8)(A)

 

Requirements for Physicians:
40 hours of Category 1 credit every two years. ME 02-373, Chapter 1, Section 2(1)(A)

  • Must complete 3 hours of Category 1 credit on the prescribing of opioid medication as required by ME Board Rule Chapter 21. ME 02-373, Chapter 1, Section 2(1)(B); 32 M.R.S. §3300-F(4)

 
Requirements for Physician Assistants:
100 hours two years, with at least 40 hours in Category 1.

  • The remaining 60 hours may be Category 1 or Category 2. ME 02-373 and 02-383, Chapter 2, Section 9(1)(A)
  • Must complete 3 hours of Category 1 credit on the prescribing of opioid medication as required by ME Board Rule Chapter 21. 32 M.R.S. §3300-F(4)
 

For more information visit The Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine