Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting in PA - SW60213

Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting in PA

by Teresa Crowe, PhD
SW60213
(4.4 / 368 ratings )

This course is credentialed for:
Social Work (2.00 CE ClockHr)

ONLINE
Price: $16.00
CE-PRO Price: $8.00

Summary:

Child abuse and neglect is widespread and associated with a variety of psychosocial problems. While federal law broadly defines child abuse, each state is charged with refining and specifying what constitutes child abuse and outlining report and investigation procedures. Pennsylvania Code defines categories of mandatory reporters who are required to report cases of suspected child abuse. The Pennsylvania Department of Human Services uses ChildLine, an organizational unit that receives, refers, and maintains reports of abuse investigations. The guidelines outline the process for assessment and investigation procedures for these reports. DHS staff members assess the level of risk to the child and make recommendations for action to ensure the safety and well-being of the child. Practitioners may be involved with intervention activities. Multicultural skills and sensitivities are often required to work with children and families from diverse backgrounds.

Objectives:

The goal of this continuing education module is to provide social workers, athletic trainers, audiologists, certified medical assistants, certified nursing assistants, dietitians, EMTs/paramedics, health educators, massage therapists, nurses, occupational therapists, pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, physical therapists, physicians, physician assistants, psychologists, respiratory therapists, and speech-language pathologists with an overview of the requirements and procedures for reporting cases of child abuse in Pennsylvania. After studying the information presented here, you will be able to:
  • Define the meaning of child abuse according to 23 Pa.C.S. Chapter 63
  • Describe the physical, psychological, behavioral and environmental indicators of child abuse
  • Identify risk factors related to child maltreatment
  • Outline the procedures for making a report to ChildLine
 

 
Accreditation Information
 
This course is intended for an interprofessional audience, including athletic trainers, audiologists, certified medical assistants, certified nursing assistants, dietitians, EMTs/paramedics, health educators, massage therapists, nurses, occupational therapists, pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, physical therapists, physicians (including osteopathic physicians), physician assistants, psychologists, respiratory therapists, social workers, speech-language pathologists
 
Social workers: Take this version of the course to ensure you receive appropriate credit.
 
For the version accredited or approved for another profession, go to your specific profession at www.continuingeducation.com or Nurse.com/CE. If you have a CE Direct login ID and password (generally provided by your employer), please log in as you normally would at CEDirect.ContinuingEducation.com and search for this topic title.
 
The Pennsylvania Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs has approved OnCourse Learning, a Relias LLC company, to provide this child abuse continuing education activity for 2 hours.
 
OnCourse Learning, provider # 1203, is approved as a provider for social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) www.aswb.org, through the Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program. OnCourse Learning maintains responsibility for the program. Approval Period: February 15, 2017 to February 15, 2020. Social workers should contact their regulatory board to determine course approval. Social workers participating in this course will receive 2.0 general social work continuing education clock hours.
 
OnCourse Learning is also accredited by the Florida Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy and Mental Health Counseling (provider # 50-1489).
 
OnCourse Learning, SW CPE is recognized by the New York State Education Department's State Board for Social Work as an approved provider of continuing education for licensed social workers #0401. This approval is for a three-year term beginning August 1, 2016 and ending July 31, 2019.
 
Social workers participating in this course will receive 2.0 general social work continuing education clock hours.
 
Course delivery format: Online Self-Study, Non-interactive
Instructional Method: Narrative with Clinical Vignette
 
 
Audience
 
Social Workers
 
Social Work Practice Levels: Basic
 
 
Course Completion Requirements and Awarding Certificate
 
After reading the presentation, complete the course test online. With a score of 75% or better and completing the evaluation, you may immediately print your CE certificate of completion or save a pdf of it for your records. You may also request a copy to be sent to you by mail. If your score is less than the passing score of 75%, you may retake the test. In the event of loss, there is no charge for a replacement copy of a CE certificate.
 
 
Jurisdictional Requirements
 
Continuing education licensing requirements vary by jurisdiction, are not well defined, and may change. We recommend you contact your licensing board or accrediting organization for the latest continuing education requirements of your state or territory. To review state specific/jurisdictional continuing education requirements, click here.
 
 
Accommodations for Disabilities
 
Every effort will be made to accommodate your special needs. To request accommodation; please contact the CE office at (800) 866-0919.
 
 
Grievance Procedure
 
OnCourse Learning is committed to conducting all activities in strict conformance with accreditation agencies and boards. OnCourse Learning will comply with all responsibilities to be nondiscriminatory in activities, program content, and in treatment of participants. The monitoring and assessment of compliance with these standards will be the responsibility of members of the Provider Unit Planning Committee and continuing education division.
 
While OnCourse Learning attempts to assure fair treatment of all participants, we recognize grievances that may require intervention. Grievances are handled in the following manner:
 
When a participant, either orally or in written format, files a grievance, a member of the Provider Unit Planning Committee will evaluate the nature of the complaint. If it is meritorious, a member of the Provider Unit Planning Committee will instruct the staff to implement any necessary changes in the course. The complainant will receive a response from a member of the Provider Unit Planning Committee or designated staff within 5 working days.
 
If the results of the grievance process are unsatisfactory, New Jersey social workers have the option to contact the approving entity, with an option to appeal to their licensing board.
 
You may file a complaint by telephone or email.
Telephone #: 800.866.0919

Course Originally Released on: 10/16/2015
Date of Most Recent Review: 2/11/2019
Course Termination/Update Date: 2/11/2022

Unless stated above, the planners and authors of this course have declared no relevant conflicts of interest that relate to this educational activity. OnCourse Learning guarantees this educational activity is free from bias.

Please see CE Course Instructions to learn how to earn CE credit for this module.

 

For Florida professionals:

This course completion will be electronically reported to CE Broker as required per Florida Statute 456.025(7). Click here to view your CE Broker transcript and check the status of your CE requirements with a FREE 7-day CE Broker trial subscription. It may take up to 24 hours for the course to appear on your CE Broker transcript.

It is now required that all CE is completed and reported to CE Broker before you renew your license. When you complete continuing education with us, OnCourse Learning will report your hours for you.

Read more about the new license renewal process at AreYouRenewalReady.com and claim your free Basic Account in CE Broker to see what has already been reported for you.

Please check the licenses/certifications section under my account (after logging in) to make sure you have entered a valid FL license number. This information is required for correct reporting of your course completions to CE Broker.

Reports to CE Broker

Sort By
Barbara S - Philadelphia, PA  ·  Apr 09, 2019
Needed for PA lic, Interesting presentation, improved since last year
Was this review helpful?  0
 
Kevin S - Lamsdown, PA  ·  Mar 09, 2019
5,yes, awesome ,informative training that I would recommend to all health care professionals,
Was this review helpful?  0
 
sarah S - Phoenixville, PA  ·  Mar 04, 2019
Program well done. Content clear, specific
Was this review helpful?  0
 
Donyen K - Phihadelphia, PA  ·  Mar 01, 2019
The Course was an illustration with vignette was helpful
Was this review helpful?  0
 
Clare O - Biglerville, PA  ·  Feb 27, 2019
I liked the way the material was outlined and I found it to be easy to get through.
Was this review helpful?  0
 
  Page: of 23  
ONLINE
Price: $16.00
CE-PRO Price: $8.00