Mandatory Reporting for Child and Dependent Adult Abuse in Iowa - AT60266

Mandatory Reporting for Child and Dependent Adult Abuse in Iowa

by Teresa Crowe, PhD
AT60266
(4.5 / 0 ratings )

This course is credentialed for:
Athletic Training (2.00 hours)

ONLINE
Price: $56.00
CE-PRO Price: $28.00

Summary:

Certain professionals are considered mandatory reporters of child, dependent adult, and elder abuse and neglect. While federal law broadly defines abuse of children and dependent adults, each state is charged with refining and specifying what constitutes abuse, defining the terms for abuse, determining who is considered a mandatory reporter, and outlining report and investigation procedures. To report cases of abuse as required, professionals must understand how abuse is defined by law and what signs are often indicators of abuse. The Iowa Code defines terms for child, dependent adult, and elder abuse, as well as professional categories of mandatory reporters. The Iowa Department of Human Services (IDHS) defines what constitutes abuse and outlines its assessment and investigation procedures for these reports. IDHS staff members assess the level of risk to children or adults, and make recommendations for action to ensure the child's or adult's safety and well-being.

Objectives:

This continuing education module is designed to provide nurses, physicians, social workers, psychologists, audiologists, speech-language pathologists, dietitians, occupational therapists, physical therapists, athletic trainers, respiratory therapists, pharmacists, and emergency medical technicians and paramedics with an overview of the requirements and procedures for reporting cases of child and dependent adult abuse in Iowa. After studying the material presented here, you will be able to:
  • Define the meanings of child (Iowa Code 441 — 175 (232) and dependent adult (Iowa Code 235.B) abuse under Iowa state laws
  • Describe the physical, psychological, behavioral, and environmental factors associated with abuse
  • Outline the process of making a report to the Iowa Department of Human Services
 

 
Accreditation Information
 
This course is intended for multiple professions, including social workers, athletic trainers, audiologists, dietitians, EMTs and paramedics, nurses, occupational therapists, pharmacists, physical therapists, physicians, psychologists, respiratory therapists, speech-language pathologists.
 
Athletic trainers: Take this version of the course to ensure you receive appropriate credit.
 
For the version accredited or approved for another profession, go to your specific profession at ContinuingEducation.com or Nurse.com/CE. If you have a CE Direct login ID and password (generally provided by your employer), please log in as you normally would at CEDirect.ContinuingEducation.com and search for this topic title.
 
This curriculum is approved by the Iowa Department of Public Health and considered an approved abuse education curriculum to be used as a training tool for Combination mandatory reporter training  (course approval #4033 for 9/26/2018 to 9/26/2021).
 
Relias LLC (formerly OnCourse Learning) is recognized by the Board of Certification, Inc. to offer continuing education for Certified Athletic Trainers (provider #P1000). This program has been approved for a maximum of 2 hours of Category A continuing education. Difficulty level: Advanced
 
OnCourse Learning is also approved by the Florida Board of Athletic Training (provider # 50-1489).

Course Originally Released on: 9/26/2018
Date of Most Recent Review: 9/26/2018
Course Termination/Update Date: 9/26/2021

Unless stated above, the planners and authors of this course have declared no relevant conflicts of interest that relate to this educational activity. OnCourse Learning guarantees this educational activity is free from bias.

Please see CE Course Instructions to learn how to earn CE credit for this module.

For Florida professionals:

This course completion will be electronically reported to CE Broker as required per Florida Statute 456.025(7). Click here to view your CE Broker transcript and check the status of your CE requirements with a FREE 7-day CE Broker trial subscription. It may take up to 24 hours for the course to appear on your CE Broker transcript.

It is now required that all CE is completed and reported to CE Broker before you renew your license. When you complete continuing education with us, OnCourse Learning will report your hours for you.

Read more about the new license renewal process at AreYouRenewalReady.com and claim your free Basic Account in CE Broker to see what has already been reported for you.

Please check the licenses/certifications section under my account (after logging in) to make sure you have entered a valid FL license number. This information is required for correct reporting of your course completions to CE Broker.

Reports to CE Broker

Sort By
Rating is not available. Be the first one to rate this course by clicking the review this course.

ONLINE
Price: $56.00
CE-PRO Price: $28.00