Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting in Iowa - AT60265

Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting in Iowa

by Teresa Crowe, PhD, LICSW, LCSWC
AT60265
(4.5 / 0 ratings )

This course is credentialed for:
Athletic Training (2.00 hours)

ONLINE
Price: $56.00
CE-PRO Price: $28.00

Summary:

Child abuse and neglect is widespread, and it’s associated with a variety of psychosocial problems. While federal law broadly defines child abuse, each state is charged with refining and specifying what constitutes child abuse and outlining report and investigation procedures. A biopsychosocial assessment can provide the background knowledge needed to create a plan for treatment. Professionals should pay attention to indicators of abuse during assessment of child abuse. The Iowa Code defines categories of mandatory reporters who are required to report cases of suspected child abuse. The Iowa Department of Human Services outlines procedures for these reports. IDHS staff members assess the level of risk to the child and make recommendations for action to ensure the safety and well-being of the child. Practitioners may be involved with intervention activities.

Objectives:

This continuing education module is designed to provide nurses, physicians, social workers, psychologists, audiologists, speech-language pathologists, dietitians, occupational therapists, physical therapists, athletic trainers, respiratory therapists, pharmacists, pharmacy techs, certified medical assistants, and emergency medical technicians and paramedics with an overview of the requirements and procedures for reporting cases of child abuse in Iowa. After completing this course, you will be able to:
  • Define the meaning of child abuse according to Iowa Code Section 232.68(2)
  • Describe the physical and behavioral indicators of child abuse
  • List the individual, family, and social risk factors associated with child maltreatment
  • Outline the assessment protocol used by the Iowa Department of Human Services
 

 
Accreditation Information
 
This course is intended for an interprofessional audience, including nurses, physicians, social workers, psychologists, audiologists, speech-language pathologists, dietitians, occupational therapists, physical therapists, athletic trainers, respiratory therapists, pharmacists, pharmacy techs, certified medical assistants, and EMTs and paramedics.
 
Athletic trainers: Take this version of the course to ensure you receive appropriate credit.
 
For the version accredited or approved for another profession, go to your specific profession at ContinuingEducation.com or Nurse.com/CE. If you have a CE Direct login ID and password (generally provided by your employer), please log in as you normally would at CEDirect.ContinuingEducation.com and search for this topic title.
 
OnCourse Learning is recognized by the Board of Certification, Inc. to offer continuing education for Certified Athletic Trainers (provider #P1000). This program has been approved for a maximum of 2 hours of Category A continuing education. Difficulty level: advanced
 
OnCourse Learning is also approved by the Florida Board of Athletic Training (provider # 50-1489).
 
"Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting in Iowa" is approved by the Iowa Department of Public Health and considered an approved abuse education curriculum to be used as a training tool for Child Abuse mandatory reporter training  (course approval #3698 for 7/22/2018 to 7/22/2021).

Course Originally Released on: 7/22/2018
Date of Most Recent Review: 7/22/2018
Course Termination/Update Date: 7/22/2021

Unless stated above, the planners and authors of this course have declared no relevant conflicts of interest that relate to this educational activity. OnCourse Learning guarantees this educational activity is free from bias.

Please see CE Course Instructions to learn how to earn CE credit for this module.

For Florida professionals:

This course completion will be electronically reported to CE Broker as required per Florida Statute 456.025(7). Click here to view your CE Broker transcript and check the status of your CE requirements with a FREE 7-day CE Broker trial subscription. It may take up to 24 hours for the course to appear on your CE Broker transcript.

It is now required that all CE is completed and reported to CE Broker before you renew your license. When you complete continuing education with us, OnCourse Learning will report your hours for you.

Read more about the new license renewal process at AreYouRenewalReady.com and claim your free Basic Account in CE Broker to see what has already been reported for you.

Please check the licenses/certifications section under my account (after logging in) to make sure you have entered a valid FL license number. This information is required for correct reporting of your course completions to CE Broker.

Reports to CE Broker

Sort By
Rating is not available. Be the first one to rate this course by clicking the review this course.

ONLINE
Price: $56.00
CE-PRO Price: $28.00