Mandatory Reporting of Dependent Adult and Elder Abuse in Iowa - 17-GANN-F3-0182

Mandatory Reporting of Dependent Adult and Elder Abuse in Iowa

by Teresa Crowe, PhD
(4.5 / 97 ratings )

This course is credentialed for:
Emergency Medical Services (2.00 CEH)

Price: $8.00
CE-PRO Price: $4.00


Dependent adult and elder abuse is an unfortunate occurrence, yet widespread in the United States. Elders and dependent adults are often the targets of physical, psychological, and sexual abuse; and neglect. While federal law broadly defines dependent adult and elder abuse, each state is charged with refining and specifying what constitutes dependent and elder abuse, and outlining report and investigation procedures. Clinicians should pay attention to particular indicators of abuse during an assessment. Iowa Code defines categories of mandatory reporters who are required to report cases of suspected dependent and elder abuse. The Iowa Department of Human Services provides guidelines about the process for assessment and investigation procedures for these reports. DHS staff members assess the level of risk to the dependent adult or elder and make recommendations for action to ensure the safety and well-being of the individual.


The goal of this continuing education program is to explain Iowa laws related to dependent adult and elder adult abuse. After studying the information presented here, you will be able to:
  • Identify the different types of elder and dependent adult abuse
  • Explain why abuse occurs and barriers to reporting
  • List at least two indicators of each type of abuse
  • Name at least three professional disciplines that are mandatory reporters
  • Describe at least one way interprofessional team members can collaborate when reporting
  • Explain the penalties for failure to report

Accreditation Information
This course is intended for an interprofessional audience, including social workers, athletic trainers, audiologists, dietitians, EMTs and paramedics, nurses, occupational therapists, pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, physical therapists, physicians, psychologists, respiratory therapists, and speech language pathologists.
EMTs and paramedics: Take this version of the course to ensure you receive appropriate credit.
For the version accredited or approved for another profession, go to your specific profession at or If you have a CE Direct login ID and password (generally provided by your employer), please log in as you normally would at and search for this topic title.
This CE activity is accredited for 1.0 Basic CEH by OnCourse Learning, an organization accredited by Commission on Accreditation for Pre-Hospital Continuing Education (CAPCE).
"Mandatory Reporting of Dependent Adult and Elder Abuse in Iowa" is approved by the Iowa Department of Public Health to satisfy the requirement for professional licensure for social workers, athletic trainers, audiologists, dietitians, EMTs and paramedics, nurses, occupational therapists, pharmacists, physical therapists, physicians, psychologists, respiratory therapists, and speech language pathologists, course approval #3900, approval date 5/8/2017 to 5/8/2020.
Privacy Statement
I understand that OnCourse Learning as a requirement of CAPCE accreditation will submit a record of my course completions to the CAPCE AMS. I further understand that my course completion records may be accessed by or shared with such regulators as state EMS offices, training officers, and NREMT on a password-protected need-to-know basis. In addition, I understand that I may review my record of CAPCE-accredited course completions by contacting CAPCE.

Course Originally Released on: 4/19/2017
Date of Most Recent Review: 4/19/2017
Course Termination/Update Date: 5/8/2020

Unless stated above, the planners and authors of this course have declared no relevant conflicts of interest that relate to this educational activity. OnCourse Learning guarantees this educational activity is free from bias.

Please see CE Course Instructions to learn how to earn CE credit for this module.


For Florida professionals:

If this course is currently approved by the Florida Bureau of Emergency Medical Services, course completions will be electronically reported to CE Broker as required per Florida Statute 456.025(7). Click here to view your CE Broker transcript and check the status of your CE requirements with a FREE 7-day CE Broker trial subscription. It may take up to 24 hours for the course to appear on your CE Broker transcript.

It is now required that all CE is completed and reported to CE Broker before you renew your license. When you complete continuing education with us, OnCourse Learning will report your hours for you.

Read more about the new license renewal process at and claim your free Basic Account in CE Broker to see what has already been reported for you.

Please check the licenses/certifications section under my account (after logging in) to make sure you have entered a valid FL license number. This information is required for correct reporting of your course completions to CE Broker.

Reports to CE Broker

Sort By
Robert B - CAMARILLO, CA  ·  Feb 11, 2019
Was this review helpful?  0
Justin M - Anaheim, CA  ·  Jan 28, 2019
Informative class but very dry.
Was this review helpful?  0
Thomas V - Peoria , IL  ·  Jan 24, 2019
I found it very informative about a subject that seems to be often over looked
Was this review helpful?  0
Dave K - Orient, OH  ·  Jan 19, 2019
Well written and interesting
Was this review helpful?  0
Anthony C - Baldwin Park, CA  ·  Dec 07, 2018
Great material to review.
Was this review helpful?  0
  Page: of 8  
Price: $8.00
CE-PRO Price: $4.00