New York State Education Department Requirements

Continuing education required: 

  • Respiratory Therapists: 30 hours                                   
  • Respiratory Therapy Technicians: 24 hours

Due at the end of each three-year interval based on the licensee's birth month.

 

  • The law requires that respiratory therapy courses be provided by approved sponsors.
  • Informal self-study courses must constitute not more than half of the total hours.

 

For more information visit the New York State Education Department.