Pennsylvania State Board of Physical Therapy Requirements

For this biennial renewal only, (January 1, 2013 - December 31, 2014) 15 hours of board approved continuing education earned between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2012 can be used for renewal. Hours used for 2012 renewal of a direct access certificate cannot
be used again.

PTs and PTAs renewal cycle runs from January 1st of each odd numbered year, through December 31st of the next even numbered year i.e. January 1, 2013 through December 31, 2014.  

During each biennial period, a licensee shall complete qualifying continuing education qual to at least 30 contact hours of continuing physical therapy education, including at least 2 contact hours in law or ethics applicable to the practice of physical therapy.

10 hours shall be in evaluative procedures to treat a person without a referral.

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2015, all persons applying for issuance of an initial license shall be required to complete 3 hours of DPW-approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of licensure.
Additionally, EFFECTIVE WITH THE FIRST LICENSE RENEWAL AFTER JANUARY 1, 2015, all health-related licensees and funeral directors applying for the renewal of a license issued by the Board shall be required to complete at least 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of renewal.

For more information visit the Pennsylvania State Board of Physical Therapy