Texas State Board of Pharmacy Requirements

30 contact hours (3.0 CEUs) of approved continuing education must be obtained during the previous bienniel license period. Any hours obtained in excess of the amount required to renew cannot be carried forward to the next license period. Licenses expire every 2 years on the last day of the month it was issued.

Effective January 1, 2015, at least one contact hour (0.1 CEU) shall be related to Texas pharmacy laws or rules.

Administration of Immunizations or Vaccinations by a Pharmacist under Written Protocol of a Physician. If approved to administer vaccinations, pharmacists must have 3.0 contact hours of continuing education every 2 years which are designed to maintain competency in the disease states, drugs, and administration of immunizations or vaccinations.

ACPE-approved courses for Pharmacy Technicians end in the letter “T”. ACPE-approved courses pharmacists (only) end in the letter “P”.  Courses ending in the letter “P” cannot be used to meet pharmacy technician CE requirements.

For more information visit the Texas State Board of Pharmacy