Pennsylvania State Board of Pharmacy Requirements

CE: 30 hours of continuing education must be completed every biennial renewal. 049 Pa. Code § 27.32

  • 2 hours must be completed in the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) topic designator Patient Safety (05). 049 Pa. Code § 27.32(a) 
  • 2 hours of continuing education in pain management, identification of addiction or the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids, effective July 1, 2017. Section 9.1(a)(2) of ABC-MAP 
  • 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements. Act 31 of 2014. Continuing education results must be submitted electronically from the provider. This process can take up to seven days.
  • 2 hours must address the administration of injectable medications if the pharmacist is authorized to administer injectable medications. 049 Pa. Code § 27.407

 
Pharmacists’ licenses expire September 30 of even-numbered years.  049 Pa. Code § 27.31

For initial licensure:

  • 4 hours of Board-approved education consisting of 2 hours in pain management or the identification of addiction and 2 hours in the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids must be completed, effective July 1, 2017. Section 9.1(a) of ABC-MAP 
  • 3 hours of PA Department of Human Services-approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of licensure. Act 31 of 2014.  

 
Continuing education programs offered by ACPE-accredited providers of continuing pharmaceutical education targeted toward pharmacists are acceptable to the Board. 049 Pa. Code § 27.32(a) 
 
ACPE-approved courses for pharmacists end in the letter “P”. 

For more information visit the Pennsylvania State Board of Pharmacy

Course TitleCourse IDContact HrMedia
Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting in PA
0513-0000-15-177-H03-P
2.00
Course available online.