15 hours of continuing education must be completed annually, during the period from June 1 through May 31 of each license renewal period. A program shall consist of therapeutics, or pharmacy and drug law or other aspects of health care. 1 hour of continuing education credit must be earned in the area of pharmacy and drug law. 1 hour of continuing education credit must be earned in the area of patient safety or medication error reduction. There is a one-time requirement of 7 hours in pain management (A one-hour pain management course, specific to Oregon, provided by the Pain Management Commission of the Oregon Department of Human Services; and a minimum of six hours of continuing education in pain management.) Home study must be approved by the board.
Licenses expire on June 1st. However, when submitting renewal, all forms must be submitted and postmarked by May 31st of the renewal year.
CE programs are not required to carry approval of American Council on Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE). Programs presented by providers approved by the American Council on Pharmacy Education (ACPE) are generally accepted, however, the Board reserves the right to determine the number of hours allowed or to disapprove such programs.
ACPE-approved courses for Pharmacy Technicians end in the letter “T”. ACPE-approved courses pharmacists (only) end in the letter “P”. Courses ending in the letter “P” cannot be used to meet pharmacy technician CE requirements.
For more information visit the Oregon Board of Pharmacy