Ohio State Board of Pharmacy Requirements

CE: 6.0 CEUs (60 Hours) minimum, reported every three years, earned during the three years prior to license renewal. CE must be completed no later than September 15th of the year in which evidence of the continuing pharmacy education is required for identification card renewal.
• Any format (live, home study) is acceptable
• 55 hours any topic of your choosing
• Minimum 2 hours med errors/patient safety (ACPE -05)
• Minimum 3 hours (ACPE -03) law OR BOARD OF PHARMACY APPROVED Jurisprudence

Patient/Medication Safety: Effective January 15, 2016, pharmacists will be required to complete 0.2 C.E.U.s of patient or medication safety per CE reporting cycle. Patient or medication safety related continuing education is defined as any A.C.P.E. program as identified by A.C.P.E. numbering convention “05” that deals with the prevention of healthcare errors and the elimination or mitigation of patient injury caused by healthcare errors.

ACPE-approved courses for Pharmacy Technicians end in the letter “T”. ACPE-approved courses pharmacists (only) end in the letter “P”.  Courses ending in the letter “P” cannot be used to meet pharmacy technician CE requirements.

For more information visit the Ohio State Board of Pharmacy